Ryan Adams walked into a bar…

In an effort to not bombard friends, family, long-lost-barely-aquainted-high-school-people-who-found-me, colleagues and others in my Facebook Friend List with daily song posts, I figured I’d be a big girl and create my own blog.

“Alethia’s a tastemaker!” – M. Bulkeley
“Alethia really knows her music!” -Unknown
“I wait patiently every day for Alethia to blog…Oh, please Universe…make her blog!” -Someone Awesome
“Alethia who?” -The Rest Of The People

After hearing what the public has been saying, I decided I’d better satisfy the needs of my community. Today’s song choice is from Ryan Adams. I love this man. When he’s sober on stage, he’s amazing. When he’s drunk/high on stage, he’s entertaining. You can’t go wrong. His songs are full of thought, full of pain, betrayal, yearning, love, confusion…the real life stuff. He has this simple sound to him that feels comfortable. He doesn’t try too hard, he just sings and plays the guitar. Nothing to prove. I really like that about him.

This little ditty of his is beautiful. The lyrics are so wonderful:

and I hold you close in the back of my mind
And raise my glass ’cause either way I’m dead
Neither of you really help me to sleep anymore
One breaks my body and the other breaks my soul

Man, oh, man. That right there came from somewhere. And, that’s another reason I love his art. It comes from somewhere.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think ?

