Rachael Yamagata

My other half might choke a this posting. I’ve put him through hours of Rachael on repeat, singing Rachael in the shower, Rachael humming while we walk…the poor man has endured this woman through the rugged voice of his girl.
However, when you love something, you love something. This woman is quite likely my favorite female singer/songwriter. On her last album she attempted some rock, which I didn’t fancy much. Luckily the other side was her drowsy, romantic, love chasing self, wrapped in strings and piano. Just like the Rachael I love.
I find her live shows to be warm and cozy, like a throw blanket. Her banter during the songs makes her vulnerable and humanlike, which is refreshing.
Below is a simple Rachael song, yet full of emotion and powerful. I love it for it’s imagery and the painful, heavy emotion it carries with such simple instrumentals.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think ?

