Stop the music-robbing, money gobbling Wolves!

Once upon a time in a land far away I met two men creating a company to help build indie artists and get them paid by making placements in Film/TV. I started working for them in the day-to-day management of a new company with two first-time business men. Quickly I realized that the indie artists were being robbed of their hard-earned (or/and borrowed) money and I left the company.  Since then, the company A&R Select has taken hundreds of artists’ money, claiming to take them ‘to the next level’ and my heart just breaks for those artists. I recently heard that an artist paid $16,000 to A&R Select to be able to be made “famous” by being introduced to some DJs and to be on board w/ A&R Select.

If you’re an artist and are reading this: don’t pay to be famous. Let your music speak for itself, put some hard work and research into your job (afterall, you do work for your music, so it is a job) and always, always get a 2nd and 3rd opinion before signing/paying for deals.

I don’t know any company that’s worthwhile or legit that charges any artists upfront.
Good luck!

Here’s a song to those evil people out there.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stop the music-robbing, money gobbling Wolves!

  1. Lots of legit companies charge artists. Most music publicists I know for example, as well as some radio promoters. But I agree w/you I met with them and they are shady.

What do you think ?

