Antony and the Johnsons / Fistful of Love

Sitting in my bird nest the other night, watching the sparkling river run its course through the city and the lives of other people, an old friend introduced me to Antony and the Johnsons, which swept through me like a barrel of wind without boundaries. How could I have not heard this theatrical, powerful, twisted artist before that night? Sometimes the right music finds you in the right setting.

Antony is unlike any other artist. Sometimes you listen and it feels like you’re in an off-broadway alternative musical. Others, it feels like you’re sitting on his floor watching him shed tears from his life’s pain.  Check out this song, too. It’s amazing.

He’s on Facebook. Go like him. And, a piece of this song, in lyrics:

We live together in a photograph of time
I look into your eyes
And the seas open up to me
I tell you I love you
And I always will

And I know that you can’t tell me
And I know that you can’t tell me

So I’m left to pick up
The hints, the little symbols of your devotion
So I’m left to pick up
The hints, the little symbols of your devotion

I feel your fists
And I know it’s out of love
And I feel the whip
And I know it’s out of love
I feel your burning eyes burning holes
Straight through my heart

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in alethea austin pole dance, alethia austin, amsterdam music blogs, european music blogs, Indie Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think ?

