SXSW Artist: Phosphorescent / Song For Zula

Phosphorescent’s Matthew Houck is a man after my own heart. His 2009 album, Tophosphorescent Willie, is a tribute to my absolute favorite larger-than-life human, Willie Nelson. In addition to him recognizing the magic of Willie Nelson, he’s created a song that absolutely lifts me out of my boots and rockets me into the clouds. The song below.
Get a load of these heartbreaking lyrics:

Some say love is a burning thing
That it makes a fiery ring
Oh but I know love as a fading thing
Just as fickle as a feather in a stream
See, honey, I saw love. You see, it came to me
It put its face up to my face so I could see
Yeah then I saw love disfigure me
Into something I am not recognizing

–Um, holy shit. What a mouthful of _____ that is.

He’s playing SXSW this year, sure to gain some new followers and recognition.

Get down with Phosphorescent on Facebook. 

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in alethia austin, amsterdam music blogs, european music blogs, Music, music blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SXSW Artist: Phosphorescent / Song For Zula

  1. shekh rabbani says:

    Nice song. I wish that i could sing.

  2. The Rungs says:

    Beautiful song and what touching lyrics! this music has movement to it too. very happy that i just discovered your blog!

  3. I love this song! If you haven’t, check out Justin TImberlake’s video for “Suit & Tie” http://smarturl.it/JTSuitAndTie

  4. Pingback: Phosphorescent – Muchacho | I FOUND MUSIC

  5. Pingback: Phosphorescent | Penny Fisk

  6. maggie says:

    Just found and am really digging your blog. Loving this track in particular.

What do you think ?

